Read Isaiah 40:9-11

from Patrick Felton, First Christian Church, St. Albans

The mountain is holy in almost every religious tradition as symbolic of being closer to God. For someone to go to the top of the high mountain is to be with God. In pre-social media days, this is also the easiest way to amplify the voice is to go to a high location and yell.

As someone who both has had mountaintop experiences and has a loud voice, God places this verse on my heart as a reminder that I shall have no shame in proclaiming good news.

The cities of Judah that I frequent have a lot of bad news right now. Heroin addiction, poverty, racism, bitterness, broken marriages, broken people, feuds. So good news, really good news, we need it.

To my town of Judah, I say this: Here is your God. Here he is. Christ Jesus, and this God is more than sufficient. Let this reminder carry you through the day beyond all of the bad news: Here is your God.

As I offer you this day, O God, help me to hear your voice, and echo it in my world.