Read Philippians 2:1-11

I had a New Testament professor who taught and lived Christian JOY:  Jesus first, Others second, Yourself last.  I suppose some people, by nature or nurture, can live this JOY without effort.  I know I can’t.  I’m just too self-centered.  Always have been.  Probably always will be.

Lord knows I want to set aside ambition, conceit, and my own interests.  I know how divisive they can be.  I’ve seen it in churches just as much as anywhere else.  Especially when my interests are ignored.  I don’t want to be a humble, obedient slave… even to God.

Lord knows I want to be tender and compassionate.  But it seems the only time I can follow through is when I am driven by love – the discipline of love.  Only then, when I’m totally concerned about the “other” (or the “Other”), am I not concerned about what happens to me.  Often instead I have selfish agendas, hidden even to me, until God reveals them.

You know, Lord, you know.  You know all about me, yet you show me such grace and mercy, and you work to make my hard heart ever softer.

Help me to make your heart – mind connection.

Don Gaffney

Beaver Falls, PA