Read John 9:1-41

I once read a story of a woman blind from birth that was asked by a friend, “How do you sing ‘Amazing Grace’?  You know the part: ‘I once was lost but now am found, was blind but now I see.’”

The blind woman answered, “When we get to that verse, I straighten my shoulders, and sing proudly, ‘Amazing Grace, how sweet the sound, that saved a wretch like me. I once was lost, but now am found, was blind, and I still can’t see!’ But . . . praise God from whom all blessings flow!”

Sometimes those with 20/20 vision lack spiritual sight, and those without physical sight have 20/20 spiritual vision. The Pharisees hold God’s Word in plain view each day, but fail to see God’s Word incarnate, the Light of the World, in Jesus. Betraying two Sabbath rules by kneading his spit into mud and healing a serious but non-life-threatening condition, Jesus’ light trespasses boundaries to heal the one in need. The man’s sight and faith are restored.

Open the eyes of our hearts, Lord, to sense your Son, the True Light, with us and drawing us closer to those in need.

Michael Lehman

Fairhill Manor Christian Church, Washington, PA

