Thursday, Dec. 29       Read Hebrews 1:1-12

from Doug McDaniel, First Christian Church, Bluefield, WV:

In this westernized culture I have bought into and perpetuate, the driving idea is that bigger is better. I go for the biggie fry and the ultimate colossal extra ginormous burger with extra crispy bacon, and extra secret sauce, and extra jalapenos. It doesn’t matter to me that it is 10,000 calories, and that eating it will leave me with a week’s worth of heartburn and acid reflux. It’s bigger and it’s better, and I had a dollar off coupon for goodness sake, and I’ve got to have it! But, is bigger really better?

 

Our Hebrews passage speaks to the enormity and the sheer vastness and not to mention the awesomeness of our Savior, and it leaves me challenged during the Advent Season. In my own craze for bigger and better, have I, in turn, minimized the One that sits at His appointed position? Jesus is from eternity to eternity; and I have to ask myself, what could I possibly know about bigger and better? Great is the Lord and most worthy of praise; his greatness no one can fathom.

 

Open my eyes, Father, that I may see the Son. Amen.

