Monday, Dec. 26          Read Luke 2:21-40

from Shawn Van Dyke, Schuylkill Haven, PA:

The day after Christmas I will be in Oregon in the shelter of the family who named me and blessed me.  Our families gave us our names and identities, they nurtured and taught us.  Most often they were the ones who introduced us to God.  When we were infants they carried us to worship to dedicate our lives to God, to acknowledge we have been designated as holy to the Lord.  As we grew physically, they helped us to grow spiritually in our relationship with God.  Guided by the Holy Spirit, we were called to a righteous and devout life, offering to God our continual and joyful praise.  Through worship and scripture we see the light of Christ, revealed as the source of salvation.  In that light, we grow strong in faith and wisdom, for the favor of God is upon us, on Christmas Day, and the day after, and the day after that.

 

I give my praise to you, O God, for the gifts that have brought me to this day, blessed by you beyond all measure.  Fill my heart with thanksgiving and my lips with words of praise. Amen.

