Saturday, Dec. 17        Read Isaiah 9:2-7

from Cletus Hull, Trinity United Christian Church, Lower Burrell, PA:

A few days ago, I went to get a haircut.  As I sat down in the barber’s chair, I was asked, even as Thanksgiving had not come upon us, the traditional question, “Are you ready for Christmas?’ When I hear that question, I imagine that people mean, “Have you bought all the gifts, for friends and loved ones?”  And, I usually answer “NO” because year after year, I wait until the last week to buy the presents!

 

Isaiah is a popular book to read at this time of the year. As the New Testament writers looked back on this book of scripture, they noticed parallels with their Lord Jesus. They believed that God through Jesus Christ had come into their world. They read Isaiah 9:6-7 and heard the words again with new meaning…

Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God, Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace.  Of the greatness of his government and peace there will be no end.”  And they recognized that the Savior had come!

 

Lord, we are grateful for the words of Isaiah that reach into our hearts. Remind us of the purpose of this time – to be ready for the coming of Jesus into our lives. Amen.

