Psalm 118.1-2, 19-29

O give thanks to the LORD, for he is good;

                his steadfast love endures forever!

                Let Israel say, “His steadfast love endures forever.”

Open to me the gates of righteousness,

                that I may enter through them and give thanks to the LORD.

This is the gate of the LORD;

                the righteous shall enter through it.

I thank you that you have answered me and have become my salvation.

The stone that the builders rejected has become the chief cornerstone.

                This is the Lord’s doing; it is marvelous in our eyes.

This is the day that the LORD has made;

                let us rejoice and be glad in it.

Save us, we beseech you, O LORD!

                O LORD, we beseech you, give us success!

Blessed is the one who comes in the name of the LORD.

We bless you from the house of the LORD.

The LORD is God, and he has given us light.

Bind the festal procession with branches, up to the horns of the altar.

You are my God, and I will give thanks to you;

                you are my God, I will extol you.

O give thanks to the LORD, for he is good,

                for his steadfast love endures forever.

 

From Rev. Judy Bennett

Bridgeport, OH

How wonderfully exciting! So very personal! You are MY God! God of the universe, God of all creation, God of the sun, the moon, the stars, God of the air that I breathe and every breath that I take, God of everything one can imagine: You are mine! And I will give you thanks.

Just reading this Psalm of love and praise makes me smile. If I ponder it long enough, I begin to feel the joy well up within me – true joy – that joy that is so much more than just happiness, that joy that no adverse circumstance or individual can steal from me. And as wise men came bearing gifts to the Christ Child in Bethlehem, what gift can I in my wisdom bring as my tribute of praise to God, now that my Lenten journey with the Christ nears Jerusalem? Is there a sacrifice or a penance that I can personally offer in order to extol my God? No. The greatest gift of thanks that I can give is to live joyfully, knowing that the journey from Bethlehem to Jerusalem and beyond is because of love – my God’s love for me – for I am His, and He is mine. Praise God!

 

O God, I sing your praise and give you thanks for your goodness

and the blessings of life, light and love

with which you shower me daily.   Amen.

