Jeremiah 31:31-34          

                The days are surely coming, says the LORD, when I will make a new covenant with the house of Israel and the house of Judah. It will not be like the covenant that I made with their ancestors when I took them by the hand to bring them out of the land of Egypt–a covenant that they broke, though I was their husband, says the LORD.

                But this is the covenant that I will make with the house of Israel after those days, says the LORD: I will put my law within them, and I will write it on their hearts; and I will be their God, and they shall be my people. No longer shall they teach one another, or say to each other, “Know the LORD,” for they shall all know me, from the least of them to the greatest, says the LORD; for I will forgive their iniquity, and remember their sin no more.

 

From Rev. Dr. Steven Jumper, Pastor

First Christian Church, Cameron

In these 4 verses, Jeremiah writes about how God was going to establish a New Covenant with Israel and Judah. This covenant was going to be different than the one God established with Moses at the top of Mount Saini which was referred to as the Mosaic covenant. The Mosaic covenant was important in pointing out the pathway that believers should walk. God never designed the Mosaic covenant as a means to obtain salvation. The problem with the Mosaic covenant was not in God’s provision, but in Israel’s response. The Israelites had continually broken the covenant. Time and again priests and prophets called God’s people to repent, but what little change of heart they experienced was soon abandoned. A godly king by the name of Josiah destroyed all the idols that were in the land. But not long after king Josiah died, the people turned to the worship of idols and therefore the hearts of the people were unchanged. Only God can change the hearts of people: thus a New Covenant was needed.

The New Covenant was established by the atoning death of Jesus Christ and would be available to anyone who “would confess with their mouth that Jesus is Lord and believe in their heart that God raised him from the dead would be saved. (Romans 10: 9)

 

Lord, thank you for the New Covenant

and for salvation through Jesus Christ. Amen

