Psalm 130

Out of the depths I cry to you, O LORD.

                Lord, hear my voice!

                Let your ears be attentive to the voice of my supplications!

                If you, O LORD, should mark iniquities, Lord, who could stand?

                But there is forgiveness with you, so that you may be revered.

I wait for the LORD, my soul waits, and in his word I hope;

                my soul waits for the Lord

                                more than those who watch for the morning,

                                more than those who watch for the morning.

O Israel, hope in the LORD!

For with the LORD there is steadfast love,

                and with him is great power to redeem.

It is he who will redeem Israel from all its iniquities.

 

From Rev. Delma Parris

Lost Creek

So many of the Psalms are written “out of the depths”, i.e., out of the writer’s authentic self. When I think of my own prayer life and my own attempts at talking to God, I realize that they are often from the surface. I pray what I think God wants to hear, or I am in a hurry and pray some generic prayer.

Lent always calls me to look at my depths, to bring to God my authentic self, and to lift up my most heart-felt joys, gratitude, fears, guilt, and whatever else may be real to me. No pretense. No fluff. Just the real stuff.

 

Dear Lord, as the Psalmist had patience to trust and to wait on you

may we pour out our heart to you,

assured that you will hear our prayer

and embrace us in your grace and mercy. Amen

