Psalm 23

The LORD is my shepherd, I shall not want.

He makes me lie down in green pastures; he leads me beside still waters;

                he restores my soul.

He leads me in right paths for his name’s sake.

Even though I walk through the darkest valley, I fear no evil;

                for you are with me; your rod and your staff– they comfort me.

You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies;

                you anoint my head with oil; my cup overflows.

Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life,

                and I shall dwell in the house of the LORD my whole life long.

 

From Rev. Rodney Hubbs, Pastor

First Christian Church, McMechen

What does the word, “friend,” mean to you?   According to Webster, the word friend means someone you know well and you cherish.   My interpretation of a friend is someone who knows you and still loves you.

As we read the 23rd Psalm, does it not describe a friend? He gives us rest, He gives us water, He leads us in paths of righteousness for His namesake.  He is with me even in the Valley of Death.  He cares for me in front of my enemies. Are those not the attributes of a true friend? He died for the sins that I have committed.

This Lenten season, perhaps, if we took all this into consideration and passed on His love to others, I am sure it would please him. He set an example for us in this Psalm of what a friend should be willing to do for others.

In answer to my initial question, “friend” means Jesus, to me.

 

God, help each of us to become a friend to

someone during this Lenten season.    Amen

