Psalm 25:1-10

To you, O LORD, I lift up my soul.

O my God, in you I trust; do not let me be put to shame;

do not let my enemies exult over me.

Do not let those who wait for you be put to shame;

let them be ashamed who are wantonly treacherous.

Make me to know your ways, O LORD; teach me your paths.

Lead me in your truth, and teach me,

for you are the God of my salvation;

for you I wait all day long.

Be mindful of your mercy, O LORD, and of your steadfast love,

for they have been from of old.

Do not remember the sins of my youth or my transgressions;

according to your steadfast love remember me,

for your goodness’ sake, O LORD!

Good and upright is the LORD;

therefore he instructs sinners in the way.

He leads the humble in what is right,

and teaches the humble his way.

All the paths of the LORD are steadfast love and faithfulness,

for those who keep his covenant and his decrees.

 

From Prayerscapes 2012, by Rev. Daniel Harry, Pastor

Community Christian Church, Beech Bottom

 

Fuhgeddaboudit!   According to the urban dictionary, this word means, among other things, to “forget about it.” In the season of Lent, Christians try to prepare for the coming of Easter by seeking forgiveness for past sins and resolving to live more righteously.

Psalm 25 is a reminder that the people of God have always tried to do this. The Psalmist is asking God to forget about past sins and transgressions and to be judged according to God’s steadfast love. This is more than forgiveness; it is a complete wiping of any history of the events of the past. Love, as Paul wrote in I Corinthians 13, “keeps no record of wrongs.” This is what we want from God.

The Psalmist also asks, “teach me your paths.” This Lent we should practice God’s love toward others. More than forgiving, we must completely forget past wrongs.

 

Guide us toward your divine forgiveness, O God. Amen.

 

