Genesis 9:8-17

                Then God said to Noah and to his sons with him, “As for me, I am establishing my covenant with you and your descendants after you, and with every living creature that is with you, the birds, the domestic animals, and every animal of the earth with you, as many as came out of the ark. I establish my covenant with you, that never again shall all flesh be cut off by the waters of a flood, and never again shall there be a flood to destroy the earth.”

                God said, “This is the sign of the covenant that I make between me and you and every living creature that is with you, for all future generations: I have set my bow in the clouds, and it shall be a sign of the covenant between me and the earth. When I bring clouds over the earth and the bow is seen in the clouds, I will remember my covenant that is between me and you and every living creature of all flesh; and the waters shall never again become a flood to destroy all flesh. When the bow is in the clouds, I will see it and remember the everlasting covenant between God and every living creature of all flesh that is on the earth.”

                God said to Noah, “This is the sign of the covenant that I have established between me and all flesh that is on the earth.”

 

From Valerie Parsons, Co-Pastor

Island Christian Church, Wheeling

This scripture speaks of God’s covenant with Noah, the promise that God would never again destroy all flesh with a flood. The sign of this covenant was a rainbow in the clouds. My family and I, and my husband’s family before us, have lived on Wheeling Island for most of the last century. Wheeling Island is an actual island in the Ohio River and those that live here experience floods on a regular basis. We also experience all kinds of weather as well as quick changes in weather.

One of my favorite stories of “Island weather” happened when the girls were still small. It was during Lent that year and one day I realized it was raining in the backyard and at the same time snowing out front! Awed, I checked to be sure and that’s when I saw the sun come out. We had sunshine and snow and rain simultaneously!   I stepped out onto the porch for a better look and saw this huge, vivid rainbow over it all. The weather of our lives may change quickly and often, but God never does. Because unlike a contract based in legalism, God’s covenant is sourced in infinite Love.

 

God of Love, as we journey through Lent in all kinds of weather,

keep our hearts and minds fixed on you. Amen.

