Read Psalm 89:1-8

I will sing of your steadfast love, O LORD, forever; with my mouth I will proclaim your faithfulness to all generations. I declare that your steadfast love is established forever; your faithfulness is as firm as the heavens. You said, “I have made a covenant with my chosen one, I have sworn to my servant David: ‘I will establish your descendants forever, and build your throne for all generations.'” Selah

Let the heavens praise your wonders, O LORD, your faithfulness in the assembly of the holy ones. For who in the skies can be compared to the LORD? Who among the heavenly beings is like the LORD, a God feared in the council of the holy ones, great and awesome above all that are around him? O LORD God of hosts, who is as mighty as you, O LORD? Your faithfulness surrounds you.

 

from Rev. Andrew Wade

First Christian Church, Logan

Pinky promise. Cross my heart and hope to die. I swear to tell the truth, the whole truth. I take thee for better, for worse. If elected, I promise… These promises, oaths, vows are grounded in the ability and faithfulness of the person who made them. Promises made by liars, the disloyal, the unfaithful don’t hold much water. What inspires hope of fulfillment is the faithfulness of the one who makes the promise.

Psalm 89 speaks of God’s faithfulness to his covenant, his promise that David’s throne would be established forever. We can count on it because God is faithful. There is nothing even in the heavenly realm that measures close to God’s faithfulness. His faithfulness is grounded in his character. 2 Timothy 2:13 states: “If we are faithless, he will remain faithful, for he cannot disown himself.” Thankfully it is not based on our failing character.

The hope of Advent emerges in the Messianic promise of this Psalm. This covenant, this promise is fulfilled in the incarnation of Jesus. Paul captures this in 2 Cor. 1:20 when he writes, “For no matter how many promises God has made, they are ‘Yes’ in Christ.” Praise God for his faithfulness to his covenant and the promises that brought us salvation.

Great and faithful God,

we who may fail in our obedience

claim your promise and wait in faith. Amen.

