Mar. 2 – Saturday                                    Read 1 Corinthians 10:1-13

I do not want you to be unaware, brothers and sisters, that our ancestors were all under the cloud, and all passed through the sea, and all were baptized into Moses in the cloud and in the sea, and all ate the same spiritual food, and all drank the same spiritual drink. For they drank from the spiritual rock that followed them, and the rock was Christ. Nevertheless, God was not pleased with most of them, and they were struck down in the wilderness.

Now these things occurred as examples for us, so that we might not desire evil as they did. Do not become idolaters as some of them did; as it is written, “The people sat down to eat and drink, and they rose up to play.” We must not indulge in sexual immorality as some of them did, and twenty-three thousand fell in a single day. We must not put Christ to the test, as some of them did, and were destroyed by serpents. And do not complain as some of them did, and were destroyed by the destroyer. These things happened to them to serve as an example, and they were written down to instruct us, on whom the ends of the ages have come. So if you think you are standing, watch out that you do not fall. No testing has overtaken you that is not common to everyone. God is faithful, and he will not let you be tested beyond your strength, but with the testing he will also provide the way out so that you may be able to endure it.

 

from David T. Chafin, Deputy Regional Minister  

            As tempting as it may be to be careless, Paul calls us toward a state of awareness about even the simple challenges we may face.  Carelessness about our language – a particular challenge to me – is just one example.  I have caught myself grumbling and grouching about the most mundane and unimportant things.  It’s too embarrassing to detail, but even in church, where I’m fed the bread of heaven and drink from the rock which is Christ, I have more than once walked away from the liturgy with a bone to pick or a snub to overcome.  How foolish!  It’s as if I had no awareness of where I’ve been or with whom I’ve shared sweet company.  God forbid that in this season of heightened awareness of God’s presence around me I should waste my breath on complaints or petty self-interests.  My “tests” in life are so small!  May my thoughts and words reflect a new awareness of the unfailing patience of God, and may such awareness train me to meet real challenges with some grace and gratitude.

O Christ our Rock, help us who are nourished in the Eucharist

 to drink deeply of your graciousness

and reflect that grace with our lives and our lips.

Prayerscapes for Lent is presented by the Order of Ministry of the Christian Church (Disciples of Christ) in West Virginia.  ©2013.  All rights reserved.  Duplication and distribution for profit is not permitted.

