Feb. 24: Second Sunday in Lent                        Read Luke 13:31-35

At that very hour some Pharisees came and said to him, “Get away from here, for Herod wants to kill you.” He said to them, “Go and tell that fox for me, ‘Listen, I am casting out demons and performing cures today and tomorrow, and on the third day I finish my work. Yet today, tomorrow, and the next day I must be on my way, because it is impossible for a prophet to be killed outside of Jerusalem.’ Jerusalem, Jerusalem, the city that kills the prophets and stones those who are sent to it! How often have I desired to gather your children together as a hen gathers her brood under her wings, and you were not willing! See, your house is left to you. And I tell you, you will not see me until the time comes when you say, ‘Blessed is the one who comes in the name of the Lord.'”

 

from Jayne L. Chafin, First Christian Church, Ravenswood  

            The warning given to Jesus becomes a warning to Herod and all who would hear the words of Jesus.  Jesus lets us know that despite the threats around him, he will continue on. “Today and tomorrow I will be about my work.  On the third day I finish my work.  And even while that is happening, today, tomorrow and the next day I must be on my way.”  In other words, the work of Jesus, the work of the church goes on.  Our work goes on.  Despite the danger, despite the inconvenience, despite the interruptions, the work continues.  And the work is always on the move.  We are always following along, always trying to keep up with the leading of Christ in the world.  And while we may not see him now, we will indeed see him when we are able to cry in abundant joy, ‘Blessed is he who comes in the name of the Lord.”

When we are tempted only to follow when the path is easy,

call to our memory, O God, the journey of Christ’s faithfulness.

 

Prayerscapes for Lent is presented by the Order of Ministry of the Christian Church (Disciples of Christ) in West Virginia.  ©2013.  All rights reserved.  Duplication and distribution for profit is not permitted.

