Feb. 23 – Saturday                                   Read Philippians 3:17 – 4:1

Brothers and sisters, join in imitating me, and observe those who live according to the example you have in us. For many live as enemies of the cross of Christ; I have often told you of them, and now I tell you even with tears. Their end is destruction; their god is the belly; and their glory is in their shame; their minds are set on earthly things. But our citizenship is in heaven, and it is from there that we are expecting a Savior, the Lord Jesus Christ. He will transform the body of our humiliation that it may be conformed to the body of his glory, by the power that also enables him to make all things subject to himself.

Therefore, my brothers and sisters, whom I love and long for, my joy and crown, stand firm in the Lord in this way, my beloved.

 

from Rodney Hubbs, First Christian Church, McMechen  

            Have you ever heard the saying, “Sunday morning Christians, every day devils?”   My wife’s grandfather used to say that all the time.  After reading this passage of scripture, it reminded me of this saying.

As I am writing this devotion we are preparing  to celebrate the birth of our Lord and Savior.  I cannot understand how anyone who has ever read the story of Jesus can go worship him on Sunday morning and then live their lives so that people don’t know they are Christians.  I preach this all the time.  My question to my parishioners is, will they know you are a Christian by the way you act the other six days of the week?

It would be so easy to let yourselves, as they say, go and live your life as a non-Christian.   God never promised that being a Christian would be easy, but that He would be with us in all our times of trouble.

We need to stand out all seven days as Christians, so that no one will ever be able to say about us, “Sunday Morning Christians, everyday devils.”

As Paul encouraged the Philippians to stand firm in believing in our Savior, so should we encourage each other to live our lives as Christians and people will know that we are Christians by our actions.

All loving Father, we ask you to strengthen us

so that we can live our lives according to your will. 

 

Prayerscapes for Lent is presented by the Order of Ministry of the Christian Church (Disciples of Christ) in West Virginia.  ©2013.  All rights reserved.  Duplication and distribution for profit is not permitted.

