Luke 1:46-55 —

And Mary said, “My soul magnifies the Lord, and my spirit rejoices in God my Savior, for he has looked with favor on the lowliness of his servant. Surely, from now on all generations will call me blessed; for the Mighty One has done great things for me, and holy is his name.

His mercy is for those who fear him from generation to generation.  He has shown strength with his arm; he has scattered the proud in the thoughts of their hearts.  He has brought down the powerful from their thrones, and lifted up the lowly; he has filled the hungry with good things, and sent the rich away empty.  He has helped his servant Israel, in remembrance of his mercy, according to the promise he made to our ancestors, to Abraham and to his descendants forever.”

 

from Kevin Bowers, First Christian Church, Weirton

When I was younger, I served as a missionary in Bangkok, Thailand.  Although I was already in my late 20’s when I went to Thailand, in many ways I feel that I grew up there.  I found that no matter how poor people were, they always seemed to have something to share.

One of my favorite memories was when my folks came to visit, and we went to the home of an elderly Thai Christian woman, who we wanted to help.  She did not know we were coming and when we arrived she seemed surprised.   “This is why God had me buy bread today,” she said in Thai. (Thai people seldom eat bread).  She fixed us toast and we sat at her table and shared in the meal that we really wanted to give to her.

My dad asked her:  “What do you want us to tell the Christians in the USA?”  She said:  “Tell them we may be poor, but we are still happy.  And God provides our needs.”

“The Magnificat” reminds me of another woman, who despite going through difficult times was pleased to serve God by carrying God’s Son, Jesus.   We often meet God when we least expect it – and so often it’s found in the poor and oppressed.

Awaken us to the gift of the Christ

offered in the hands of those we know the least.

