Read Psalm 31.9-16

Be gracious to me, O LORD, for I am in distress;
                my eye wastes away from grief, my soul and body also.
For my life is spent with sorrow, and my years with sighing;
                my strength fails because of my misery, and my bones waste away.
I am the scorn of all my adversaries, a horror to my neighbors,
                an object of dread to my acquaintances;
                those who see me in the street flee from me.
I have passed out of mind like one who is dead;
I have become like a broken vessel.
                For I hear the whispering of many– terror all around!—
                as they scheme together against me, as they plot to take my life.
But I trust in you, O LORD; I say, “You are my God.”
My times are in your hand;
                deliver me from the hand of my enemies and persecutors.
Let your face shine upon your servant; save me in your steadfast love.

 

From Rev. Dawna Watkins, Bluefield, WV

Broken, alone, I wait
Hoping and fearful in dark places, I wait
Surrounded by distrust and scorn, I wait
I wait and I weep
I wait and I scream
“It is too much to bear, have mercy, bring relief.”
Too strong for a bottle or a pill, I wait
Too weak for darkness, I wait
Glimpses of light and love come, I wait
I wait and I pray
I wait and I sing
“I am yours, wonderfully made, your undying love.”
 

Many are the voiceless cries of the happy faces.
Help us to stand together and see your love, O God our refuge.
