Read Psalm 118.1-2, 19-29

O give thanks to the LORD, for he is good;
                 his steadfast love endures forever!
                Let Israel say, “His steadfast love endures forever.”
Open to me the gates of righteousness,
                that I may enter through them and give thanks to the LORD.
This is the gate of the LORD;
                the righteous shall enter through it.
I thank you that you have answered me and have become my salvation.
The stone that the builders rejected has become the chief cornerstone.
                 This is the Lord’s doing; it is marvelous in our eyes.
This is the day that the LORD has made;
                let us rejoice and be glad in it.
Save us, we beseech you, O LORD!
                O LORD, we beseech you, give us success!
Blessed is the one who comes in the name of the LORD.
We bless you from the house of the LORD.
The LORD is God, and he has given us light.
Bind the festal procession with branches, up to the horns of the altar.
You are my God, and I will give thanks to you;
                you are my God, I will extol you.
 O give thanks to the LORD, for he is good,
                for his steadfast love endures forever.

 

From Rev. Rodney Hubbs, First Christian Church (Disciples of Christ), McMechen

    These verses and the entire 118 Psalm is a reminder that God has made me what I am and I need to continually give Him the glory and praise.

     We hear verse 24, “This is the day the Lord has made, let us rejoice  and be glad in it,” but do we realize how blessed we are to have such a loving God.  He gave us our very being, knowing that we would sin against Him.  Then he sacrificed His only son for our sins, that we may spend eternity in heaven.  What a glorious God!  Praise His holy name!

God in heaven, praise be to you.  We love you and give you all the glory.

