Read Psalm 130

Out of the depths I cry to you, O LORD.
                Lord, hear my voice!
                Let your ears be attentive to the voice of my supplications!
                 If you, O LORD, should mark iniquities, Lord, who could stand?
                 But there is forgiveness with you, so that you may be revered.
I wait for the LORD, my soul waits, and in his word I hope;
                 my soul waits for the Lord
                                more than those who watch for the morning,
                                more than those who watch for the morning.
O Israel, hope in the LORD!
For with the LORD there is steadfast love,
                and with him is great power to redeem.
It is he who will redeem Israel from all its iniquities.
 

From Pastor Kenneth Hardway,  First Christian Church (Disciples of Christ), Logan

                “Why should I confess my sins, or try to count them?  God forgives me…what’s the point?”  Yes, I’ve heard this before.  Yes, I’ve said this before.  Have you?

                Try it.  Spend 5 minutes jotting your list of sins.  Be self-reflective on this.  Then take 5 minutes and jot a list of communal/societal sins that we all involuntarily participate in.  Think idolatrous consumerism, lack of concern for the poor, etc.  My guess is your two lists will be long.

                Now take 5 minutes imagining that these lists will be what define you before God.  No redemption.  No Christ.  Just your lists and God.  After 5 minutes the Psalmist’s plea, “Out of the depths I cry to you, O Lord” may take on powerful meaning.

It is in the depths, O God,
that we come to know the power of your redemption. 
It’s in the waiting that we praise you for our Hope, our Redemption, Christ our Lord!
