Isaiah 7:10-16

Again the LORD spoke to Ahaz, saying,
      Ask a sign of the LORD your God; let it be deep as Sheol or high as heaven.
But Ahaz said, I will not ask, and I will not put the LORD to the test.
Then Isaiah said: “Hear then, O house of David!
Is it too little for you to weary mortals, that you weary my God also?
Therefore the Lord himself will give you a sign.
Look, the young woman is with child and shall bear a son, and shall name him Immanuel.
He shall eat curds and honey by the time he knows how to refuse the evil and choose the good.
 For before the child knows how to refuse the evil and choose the good, the land before whose two kings you are in dread will be deserted.
  From Rev. Dawna Watkins, Bluefield, WV:

I love that commercial where the dogs are holding signs telling you what they are thinking.  I wish my family came with those signs.  I am finding it hard to believe that Isaiah is telling us that anyone would turn down an offer to get a sign from God that they would personally understand – like an actor winking on camera during an interview to let a loved one.  Instead we now have to decipher God’s chosen sign.

But now, I think it speaks to getting caught up in the “fear of the Lord,” that we forget about the personal relationship God has with us – that when asked by God what it is we want, we answer back, “I’ll not put God to the test.”  I think this is especially true when we are in deep conflict and looking for God’s way out of it.

O God, your sign is a child who would know early in life good from evil.
Help us to find our relationships with you in your Son,
and to learn to see your love in your prophet’s words.
