Read Isaiah 42:1-9

Here is my servant, whom I uphold,
     my chosen, in whom my soul delights;
I have put my spirit upon him;
     he will bring forth justice to the nations.
 
He will not cry or lift up his voice,
     or make it heard in the street;
a bruised reed he will not break,
     and a dimly burning wick he will not quench;
he will faithfully bring forth justice.
 
He will not grow faint or be crushed
     until he has established justice in the earth;
     and the coastlands wait for his teaching.
 
Thus says God, the LORD,
     who created the heavens and stretched them out,
     who spread out the earth and what comes from it,
     who gives breath to the people upon it
     and spirit to those who walk in it:
          I am the LORD,
          I have called you in righteousness,
          I have taken you by the hand and kept you;
          I have given you as a covenant to the people,
             a light to the nations,
             to open the eyes that are blind,
             to bring out the prisoners from the dungeon,
             from the prison those who sit in darkness.
 
          I am the LORD,
          that is my name;
          my glory I give to no other,
          nor my praise to idols.
          See, the former things have come to pass,
               and new things I now declare;
          before they spring forth,
               I tell you of them.

from Rev. Aaron Watkins, First Christian Church, Bluefield:

            “I am God. That’s my name.”  These are the words of the Prophet as paraphrased in Eugene Peterson’s The Message. What is it that is so significant about a name?  We all have them.  So what?   The thing is they are our identities.  And the irony is for most of us our names were chosen by someone else, most likely our parents. Some of us in our lifetimes choose to change the names that were given for us before we entered this world.  For others they are changed when we get married.  Many of our names have meanings, some don’t. When it comes to God, we as the people of God call God by many names—Father, Creator, Lord and Maker are among many of them.  But first and foremost, He is the God who gave us a Savior in Jesus Christ.  He is the Almighty who calls us to live right and well.  Despite our sins, God continues to take our side and backs us up. Wow!  There is nothing more powerful than the name of God!

Holy God, may my lips and my life proclaim praise to your Name!

