Read Philippians 2:5-11

Let the same mind be in you that was in Christ Jesus,
      who, though he was in the form of God,
          did not regard equality with God as something to be exploited,
          but emptied himself, taking the form of a slave,
          being born in human likeness.
      And being found in human form,
          he humbled himself and became obedient
          to the point of death– even death on a cross.
      Therefore God also highly exalted him
          and gave him the name that is above every name,
          so that at the name of Jesus
               every knee should bend,
                   in heaven and on earth and under the earth,
          and every tongue should confess
               that Jesus Christ is Lord,
                    to the glory of God the Father.

from Rev. Jayne Chafin, First Christian Church, New Martinsville:

            Many years ago, someone gave me a little glass plaque on a stand with the words “Have this mind in you which was also in Christ Jesus our Lord,” written on it.  I can still see that in my mind.  I kept it on my bedside table for a long time.  There are days I wish I still had it.  After difficult days it is good to think on this text in rising or in retiring.  It moves from the sobering thought of having the “same mind” as Jesus to praising his name! 

            We are called forth this Lent and always to remember what Jesus has done for us and to look forward to that day when “every knee shall bow, every tongue confess that Jesus Christ is Lord.”  Are you singing it with me?

May I sing the eternal song of Christ’s glory, O God,
as I rise up, and as I lie down,
confident of your renewing presence in my life.
