Read Psalm 31:9-16

Be gracious to me, O LORD, for I am in distress;
my eye wastes away from grief, my soul and body also.
For my life is spent with sorrow, and my years with sighing;
my strength fails because of my misery, and my bones waste away.
 
I am the scorn of all my adversaries,
a horror to my neighbors,
an object of dread to my acquaintances;
those who see me in the street flee from me.
 
I have passed out of mind like one who is dead;
I have become like a broken vessel.
For I hear the whispering of many– terror all around!
— as they scheme together against me,
   as they plot to take my life.
 
But I trust in you, O LORD;
I say, “You are my God.”
 
My times are in your hand;
      deliver me from the hand of my enemies and persecutors.
Let your face shine upon your servant;
      save me in your steadfast love.

from Pastor Rod Hubbs, First Christian Church, McMechen:

            After reading this scripture, I think of how Jesus must have felt when He was entering Jerusalem.  Knowing what was going to happen to Him and still going ahead.   He knew that God was with Him.   So I ask myself, “Why am I sometimes afraid of the future when I know that God is with me as He promised He would be?”

            We sometimes forget what has been promised to us after we accept Christ as our Savior.  Why do we forget?  Because we are mere mortals.  That is one of the glories of the Lenten season.  It gives us a reminder of just how great God is.

     Let us rejoice and be glad as we renew our faith in our Lord and Savior,  Jesus Christ.

Glorious God and Father of us all,
we ask that you continue to make yourself known to us
throughout each and every day of this and every season.
