Read Isaiah 50:4-9a

      The Lord GOD has given me the tongue of a teacher, that I may know how to sustain the weary with a word. Morning by morning he wakens– wakens my ear to listen as those who are taught.
      The Lord GOD has opened my ear, and I was not rebellious, I did not turn backward.  I gave my back to those who struck me, and my cheeks to those who pulled out the beard; I did not hide my face from insult and spitting.
      The Lord GOD helps me; therefore I have not been disgraced; therefore I have set my face like flint, and I know that I shall not be put to shame; he who vindicates me is near.
      Who will contend with me? Let us stand up together.
      Who are my adversaries? Let them confront me.
      It is the Lord GOD who helps me; who will declare me guilty?

from Rev. Dawna Watkins, Bluefield, WV:

            “The Lord God has given me the tongue of a teacher, that I may know how to sustain the weary with a word.”  What happens when I’m the one that needs sustaining? Is that where we are as a church? Have we been in teaching mode so long that we have lost sight of the sustaining power of God? Have we stopped listening for the “morning by morning” gift of God’s insight? Showing us those whom we are to teach; including ourselves! 

            I sometimes think that I’m alone in this, it’s all me, and forget that God is with me. I discovered my prayer life has been for others while I struggle to carry my load without help.  It’s amazing how quickly God answered a prayer that I asked for myself.  Once we remember that God is our teacher, filling us with the Good News of Resurrection, it becomes easier to teach others the Good News with authority!

Help me to listen to your word of assurance, O God,
and be filled with your grace to share your wondrous story!
