Read Psalm 28:1-2, 6-9

To you, O LORD, I call; my rock, do not refuse to hear me,
for if you are silent to me,
I shall be like those who go down to the Pit.
Hear the voice of my supplication, as I cry to you for help,
as I lift up my hands toward your most holy sanctuary.
Blessed be the LORD, for he has heard the sound of my pleadings.
The LORD is my strength and my shield; in him my heart trusts;
so I am helped, and my heart exults, and with my song I give thanks to him.
The LORD is the strength of his people;
he is the saving refuge of his anointed.
O save your people, and bless your heritage;
be their shepherd, and carry them forever.

from Rev. Mark Mills, First Christian Church, Moundsville:

Desperation. Whether quiet or expressed through anguished cries, to be desperate must be one of the worst emotions we can feel. In the midst of desperation, to feel as if God has abandoned us leaves us in the deepest darkness. Yet darkness gives way to light, and to the Light we must turn if we are to have hope. Our Lenten journey is to help us focus on the deepest part of the human spirit’s connection with God’s divine Spirit, the deepest Light. God is never silent though the ears of the soul may at times be deaf. Trust that God hears your heart. Trust that desperation will always be temporary and fade at the onset of the Light of Easter.

God, reach into my soul and let me hear the rhythm of your breath,
filling me with your wholeness and saving grace.
