Read Psalm 63:1-8

O God, you are my God, I seek you,
     my soul thirsts for you;
     my flesh faints for you,
          as in a dry and weary land
          where there is no water.
So I have looked upon you in the sanctuary,
beholding your power and glory.
 
Because your steadfast love is better than life,
     my lips will praise you.
So I will bless you as long as I live;
I will lift up my hands and call on your name.
 
My soul is satisfied as with a rich feast,
and my mouth praises you with joyful lips
     when I think of you on my bed,
and meditate on you in the watches of the night;
      for you have been my help,
     and in the shadow of your wings I sing for joy.
 
My soul clings to you; your right hand upholds me.

from Rev. Scott Thayer, Bethany Memorial Church and Chaplain of Bethany College:

            Today’s scripture speaks of two realities that we all can understand: appetite and satisfaction. For the Psalmist, bodily yearnings for food and drink were reminders of a hunger and a thirst for Something else.  In his book, Confessions, Augustine wrote, “Our hearts are restless until they rest in God.”

            We were created complete, but not whole. Our circuits are all in place, but they are not integrated. There is a missing factor, a secret ingredient, an undiscovered treasure that we spend our lives looking for. It is a faintly gleaming star, a still, small voice, a subtle aroma. It does not blare out of the radio or scream from the headlines. But in the silent watches of the night God invites us to the banquet. We come, we eat, we drink. And we find that the essence we were looking for is already ours in God’s steadfast love.

O God, when we think of you in the watches of the night,
may our souls be satisfied with the abundance of your grace.
