Isaiah 12:2-6

Surely God is my salvation;
            I will trust, and will not be afraid,
                        for the LORD GOD is my strength and my might;
                        he has become my salvation.
With joy you will draw water from the wells of salvation.
             And you will say in that day:
                        Give thanks to the LORD,
                        call on his name;
                        make known his deeds among the nations;
                        proclaim that his name is exalted.
Sing praises to the LORD, for he has done gloriously;
            let this be known in all the earth.
Shout aloud and sing for joy, O royal Zion,
            for great in your midst is the Holy One of Israel.

 

            I was a child when I regularly visited my great uncle’s farm and was allowed to help draw water from his well.   As I read this passage I experience a child’s joy of anticipation.  The heart picture of a thick rope – a wooden bucket – a handle to turn and draw the clear cold water to ground level where I could use a dipper and have a refreshing drink.  

            In this season, it is with joy that we receive God’s precious gift to our lives of Jesus Christ – the living water.  We come with joy to the well of salvation – God’s well, His rope, His bucket, and we draw and drink with thanksgiving and praise.

            “Give thanks to the Lord, and call on His name.”

Life-giving God, help us to drink deeply of your deep, deep well

and rejoice in the delicious taste of your salvation.

 

Rev. Judy Bennett

Wheeling – Island Christian Church

