Read Psalm 89:19-26

Then you spoke in a vision to your faithful one, and said:

 “I have set the crown on one who is mighty,

  I have exalted one chosen from the people.

  I have found my servant David;

    with my holy oil I have anointed him;

    my hand shall always remain with him;

    my arm also shall strengthen him.

 The enemy shall not outwit him,

   the wicked shall not humble him.

   I will crush his foes before him and strike down those who hate him.

 My faithfulness and steadfast love shall be with him;

  and in my name his horn shall be exalted.

 I will set his hand on the sea and his right hand on the rivers.

 He shall cry to me, ‘You are my Father, my God,

    and the Rock of my salvation!’

 

  From Rev. Dawna Watkins, Bluefield, WV

            The words “steadfast love and faithfulness” jump out at me. Mostly because when I hear them I think of the Hebrew word hesed, covenant loyalty.

            God’s promise to us, our promise to God, and our promise to each other is this steadfast love and faithfulness. Only sometimes we forget and need to be reminded what that covenant entails (like renewing our wedding vows). Covenant loyalty is about who we choose (and who chooses us) to live with as equals; it’s a covenant of equality. 

            David chose to be anointed into this covenant and so did Jesus. Advent, in a way, is an announcement (invitation) for all of us into hesed and Equality.

Help me to experience anew your calling and anointing within the covenant of your people, God of justice and of love.

 

These daily readings are offered by the Order of Ministry

of the Christian Church in West Virginia for your Advent journey.

They may also be accessed online or subscribed for email delivery at:

prayerscapes.wordpress.com

 

Do not reply to this email.  For Questions, contact Rev. David Chafin

